Outstanding Mentor Award & Past Presidents' Award

In 2007 a one-off Outstanding Mentor Award was conferred on Dr. David Russell to acclaim his contribution to gastroenterology in Australia through his work as an outstanding mentor of advanced gastroenterology trainees.

The award recognised the excellence of Dr. Russell's work which was sustained over a period of several years and benefited a significant number of trainees by providing an exceptional environment for learning and professional development.


In 2019 the Past Presidents' Award was conferred on Elaine Siggins to acknowledge her contribution to gastroenterology in Australia as a result of her service to GESA over many years.